How could you not be confused? Trends change daily. You read something different here vs. there. Labels include unregulated terms which mean something different to everyone. Just take the words "natural" and "raw" for example, which each have a range of definitions. That's why we want to tell you what these terms mean to us and why they can be found on our products. If these definitions lead to more questions, connect with us so we can continue the conversation.
Raw foodists avoid eating 50% to 100% of their food heated above 104 degrees (fahrenheit) to 118 degrees (fahrenheit), and instead use techniques such as soaking, sprouting, juicing, dehydrating, fermenting, and pickling. All of our rice & pea proteins are prepared under 118 degrees fahrenheit to retain the enzymes reported to help metabolize nutrients.
Vegetarians typically do not eat meat, fish, or poultry. Vegans, in addition to being vegetarian, do not use other animal products and by-products such as dairy, eggs, honey, leather, fur, silk, wool, cosmetics, and soaps derived from animal products. Motives vary and can be due to religious, health or environmental beliefs.
Another term for “hypoallergenic.” A term designated to food or products that do not contain major allergens. In the United States, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) requires food manufacturers to list the eight most common ingredients that trigger food allergies: milk, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, shellfish, soy, and wheat. More common than food allergies are intolerances, as millions of people have difficulty digesting or metabolizing lactose, gluten, etc.
The designation or term given to foods or products that do not contain gluten in them. Gluten is a protein complex found in wheat (including kamut and spelt), barley, rye and triticale. A “gluten-free” diet is the only medical treatment for Celiac Disease. Celiac Disease affects 1 in 133 people while gluten sensitivity/intolerance affects as many as 1 in 4 people.
A term given to food products that contain grains in their “whole” form, including germ, endosperm and bran. Whole grains include wheat, corn, rice, oats, barley, quinoa, sorghum, spelt, rye and even popcorn. Health experts advise that at least half of the grains consumed be "whole grains."
A term given to products that do NOT contain any grain or grain-derived ingredients. Many people following the “Paleo Diet” in particular, believe that consuming a grain-free diet may be beneficial to their health. Over 1 million people (and growing) report benefiting from reduced weight, disease and more by following a grain-free diet. Check out our Original Pea Protein which is rice-free.
Non-genetically modified organism. A plant-based food which has NOT been genetically altered by direct human manipulation. Manipulation of genetic material involves the use of recombinant DNA techniques. The long-term effects of consuming GMO foods are inconclusive due to lack of long-term scientific studies.
The USDA National Organic Program defines non-synthetic as "a substance that is derived from mineral, plant, or animal matter and does not undergo a synthetic process". They define a synthetic as "a substance that is formulated or manufactured by a chemical process or by a process that chemically changes a substance extracted from naturally occurring plant, animal, or mineral sources, except that such term shall not apply to substances created by naturally occurring biological processes." The FDA has no formal definition of the term to date.
Refers to a food or food product which contains 3g or less of fat per serving. It can also describe a meal in which 30% or less of the calories are from fat. Although fat is an essential macronutrient, certain fats (trans and saturated) should be limited in the diet.
Organic certification is a certification process for producers of organic food and other organic agricultural products. In general, any business directly involved in food production can be certified, including seed suppliers, farmers, food processors, retailers and restaurants.
This term has no formal definition, but generally implies transparency in the food product in reference to wholesomeness of the ingredients used, a lack of artificial ingredients and often a lack of major allergens.
Generally infers that a food is low in fat and sodium and other ingredients that may foster heart disease. In order to display the American Heart Association's (AHA) heart-check mark on packaging, a product must be low in fats, have no more than 480 milligrams of sodium and 20mg of cholesterol, and have 10 percent or more of the recommended daily value of one of six specified nutrients (vit A, vit C, iron, calcium, protein or fiber).
The process of germinating dry seeds by soaking in water. Sprouting has been used for centuries in the Orient and is reported to improve nutritional qualities by increasing the content and availability of essential nutrients and decreasing the levels of anti-nutrients in those seeds.
Refers to a food or food product that does not contain soy or soy-derived ingredients. A soy allergy is an abnormal response of the body to the proteins found in soy. Soybeans are classified as a legume. Other foods in the legume family are navy, kidney, string, black, and pinto beans, chickpeas (garbanzo beans), lentils, carob, licorice, and peanuts. Sensitivity to peanuts is the most common, but soybean sensitivity is also prevalent. Sensitivity to one legume can often be in association with sensitivity to another legume.
Star-K Kosher Certification, also known as the Vaad Hakashrus of Baltimore, is a kashrus certifying agency agency based in Baltimore, Maryland under the administration of Rabbi Moshe Heinmann, with the involvement of many other rabbis. It is one of the largest kashrus certification agencies in North America. The organization supervises tens of thousands of commercial food products and food establishments (such as restaurants and caterer around the world.